A step in the right direction

Several years ago, a friend gave me a Reebok Step for my birthday.  She already had one, and the idea was that we would get together at her house early in the morning and exercise to the accompanying Reebok step tape.  Well, she had three very small kids, and you know what they say about good intentions.

I used to be a regular jogger, and even did some 5 and 10 K races.  That was 20 years ago, and since then my physical condition has gradually slipped.  Until about 4 years ago, I was still walking regularly – for 4 years before that, I had a job that I could walk to.  But once I got my current job, I wasn’t able to do that any more, and I gradually backslid to the point where I didn’t get much exercise at all, except for yard work, for the past couple of years.

I work on the second floor of my building, and the staircase is very steep, and a little longer than most.  When I first came here, climbing the stairs to my office would leave me winded – not totally out of breath, but panting a little.  Bad news.

About a month ago, about the same time I started walking to church, I dragged the old Reebok step out of the closet.  In the morning before I get in the shower, I just step up and down off the thing for 20 to 40 minutes while I watch the morning news.  I don’t think I’ve lost any weight yet (not according to how my clothes fit, anyway) – but I can climb that flight of stairs now with no problem.  And after just a month!

Good news, for sure.

Leave a Reply

