I wish I was a better vegetarian

I just read this post at Planetsave Edible Activism: Changing the World Through What We Eat.  It’s a great read for anyone who is starting to think about sustainable eating.  One of the points she makes is that the easiest way to have a big impact on carbon emissions is to stop eating meat.  Meat production and delivery causes a lot of greenhouse gas release.  Vegetarianism is not only the healthiest way to go for yourself, but also for the planet.

I love animals – dogs, elephants, horses, monkeys, panda bears – all of them, including cows and pigs.  It makes me feel very guilty that I haven’t been able to give up completely on eating beef and pork.  I feel somewhat less guilty about chicken, and I am sorry to say that I don’t feel guilty about fish or eggs at all.  I don’t eat much meat; I get most of my protein through dairy and the occasional bit of seafood.  I rarely, rarely buy beef, pork or chicken at the store.  I eat seafood when I go out to eat; I don’t often fix it at home.  I also eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches at least twice a week for lunch.

One problem that I have is that a lot of the staples of a vegetarian diet – beans, lentils, pea-type things – I don’t like.  I can’t eat them.  The texture makes me gag.  Ick, ick, ick.  I don’t like oatmeal, except in cookies.  I don’t like anything I’ve ever eaten made from soy – gross.  I would never be able to be a vegan; I like milk and cheese and ice cream way too much.

However – I hereby resolve to abstain from the cows, pigs and chickens – for them, for me and for the planet.  I will report it here if I slip up.

Meanwhile, here’s a picture of my favorite animal – this is Ralph.

Leave a Reply

