Manual labor

Allow me to just say – it’s HOT outside.

I spent 90 minutes yesterday digging weeds out of my yard.  These were all along the edge of the driveway and sidewalk, so it had the effect of edging the driveway and sidewalk.  That needed to be done badly, because the weeds were growing over the sidewalk.  They might be crabgrass; I’m not sure, but it grows out in a crab-like shape.  A few of them were what we call sand spurs.  It’s a grassy weed also but has little sticker things with sharp points that get on the bottom of your shoes when you step on them.  Then you track them into the house, and later step on them with your bare feet – ow.

I have used Roundup in the past, but I didn’t want to do that any more.  For one thing it’s poison, and for another thing the weeds almost always come back.  So I dug them out.  It was mid-afternoon, and I know I shouldn’t be outside working in the heat of the day, but when it’s cooler in the morning and evening is when the mosquitoes are out.  I’d rather risk heat stroke than West Nile virus.  The mosquitoes are bad since we’ve had so much rain.

Even though we’ve had so much rain, the soil is still really dry.  The moisture drains away so fast here.  When I start vegetable gardening, I’m going to have to do it in containers for the most part, until I have enough compost to upgrade my lousy soil.  I just finished reading a book on compost gardening, which I’m going to do a post on later.

So, I got lots of exercise digging yesterday.  I also got exercise wringing out clothes.  My washing machine seems to have lost its capacity for the final spin.  It wouldn’t work on any setting.  It’s not a power problem, because it went through the rinse cycle again when I set it there.  So I’ve got to see about that.  The washer is 8 years old, and it’s in the garage – it may be time for a new one.  That’s what emergency funds are for; fortunately I have one.

This morning, I’m a little sore from the digging.  I really should get back on a better schedule with my yard work; the landscaping project is getting behind.

Leave a Reply

