Short-attention-span Thursday

Ah, August in Florida – when the heat is brain-melting.  Hence, the short attention span.

***

I’m looking at Brian Williams on the nightly news from Beijing – it looks pretty smoggy.  I’d hate to have to run a marathon in that air.

***

My dog, Ralph, eats Iams Lamb and Rice.  I get it in the 40 pound bags, usually at Target.  It’s been $32 for the longest time – until this week, when it’s suddenly gone up to $40.  That’s a 25% increase!  Wow.  I guess it’s a combination of transportation costs and the increased cost of rice.

***

Gasoline is down to $3.79/gallon for regular at “my” station.  How long will it keep going down??

***

It’s ridiculous that I have to put on a coat when I get to work.  I took my Polartec 200 fleece jacket to work and it stays there, and I have to put it on as soon as I get in my office.  Ridiculous.

***

After four years of teaching online, I think the biggest difference between A and F students is that the A students read the directions.  Not the only difference, just the biggest.

***

So far, I haven’t gotten in 60 minutes of exercise a day, but I have managed 30.  That’s better than nothing, which is what I got the past two weeks.

***

This is from yesterday’s Freakonomics blog:  Did the Economic Stimulus Plan Overstimulate Some?  Apparently, some folks spent their economic stimulus checks on something – um – stimulating.  I wonder if that counts as stimulating the economy, too??

***

One response to “Short-attention-span Thursday

  1. Pingback: Friday’s links - o’ - the - day « Treading Softly

Leave a Reply

