Quality links of the week

It’s Friday – time for some links to some great posts from other bloggers.
Five Legal Tips for Peace of Mind is a guest post from Andrew at Zen Habits.  Excellent advice.  I have a will, a health care proxy, and plenty of insurance.  I don’t know that I have my beneficiaries designated correctly – I might have to think about changing a couple of those.  Some of my family members are not so great at handling money.
 
J.D. at Get Rich Slowly does an interesting discussion of why we hold on to things we don’t really need in The Idea of Having.  Sunk costs are a barrier to getting rid of things for me too.
 
Shirley at Choosing Voluntary Simplicity gives valuable advice on Learning How to Eat Again When You Have a Soy Allergy.  I don’t have any food allergies, except to cantaloupe and honeydew melon.  Soy has never bothered me.  But it is definitely showing up in a lot of foods.  I was reading ingredients yesterday on cans in my pantry, looking for high fructose corn syrup, and noticed soy in a couple of places I didn’t expect it.  So I looked a little closer, and here’s what I found:  store brand creamy peanut butter – fully hydrogenated vegetable oil (rapeseed, cottonseed and soybean); I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Light – a blend of soybean and canola oils; Hunt’s Classic Italian Spaghetti Saucesoybean oil and soy lecithin; Near East couscoussoy protein; store brand butter flavored cooking spraysoy lecithin; four different flavors of Campbell’s Chunky soupsoy protein concentrate.  If you’re allergic to soy, you need to read labels Very Carefully.
 
Rachel at Small Notebook has an outline for a laundry routine that keeps you from drowning in dirty clothes in Avoiding the Laundry Pile-Up.  I don’t have a daily schedule, but I do have three separate baskets on the closet floor for darks, delicates, and sheets/towels/socks/underwear.  When a basket is full, it’s time to do laundry.  I probably do as much during the week as I do on the weekends.  The baskets rarely fill up at the same time.  And no, I have never waited for a month!
 
Grey at Frugal-Fu has challenged her readers to take part in the Pay It Forward Challenge – “take time in the next 30 days to “pay forward” the kindness you feel you have received in your own life, to whomever you feel needs it the most.”  What can you do to pay it forward in the next 30 days?  I’m cleaning out my pantry and taking several cans and boxes of nonperishables to our church food drive for the local urban ministries team.
 
When It Comes to Emergency Funds, Size Does Matter according to Frugal Dad.  My emergency fund is not where it should be.  I have more than the basic $1000, which covers my deductibles on car and homeowners’ insurance, but I don’t have more than one month of living expenses.  When I get back from vacation next month, I need to concentrate on that.
 
Wendy at My Green Side gives us Composting: It’s Good for the Soil.  Yes it is.  I’m not composting with worms (at least, not deliberately; I bet there are some in there, though).  But my composting efforts have been a great success so far, and extremely easy.  Everyone should give it a try.

 

Donna at A More Green and Simple Life points to a site called Freerice.com.  I’ve used this site myself, and it’s very cool.  It tests your vocabulary, and for every word you get right, you donate 20 grains of rice.  The grains add up quickly.  I was playing every day for a while; this was a good reminder to get back to it.
 
Paul Michael at Wise Bread did a great post on regifting – how to do it without causing yourself great embarrassment!
 
Jaime at Cheap Healthy Good did a post called Little Meals for One – great ideas for what to cook and eat as a single person.  I get tired of trying to think of things to eat – there are lots of times when nothing sounds good.  This list will be an enormous help!
 
And finally, Colin, the No Impact Man, has a great list of 40 Steps on the Personal Path to Green.  It’s great advice.  I already follow some of it, but I could be a lot greener.
 
Enjoy!  Have a great weekend!
4 responses to “Quality links of the week

  1. Thanks so much for the link! I enjoyed these articles also, especially the one about composting. I have a vermicompost bin too, and I think the whole process is very neat.

  2. Hi! I wanted to say thank you for the mention, and especially for taking part in the Pay-It-Forward challenge!

  3. You’re welcome to both of you – I’m a happy subscriber to your blogs! I think the Pay It Forward Challenge is a great idea. Every little bit helps.

  4. Thanks for mentioning my blog!

    I have been encouraged to find so many successful composters out there!

Leave a Reply

