The A to Z of homemaking

My family would hoot derisively at the thought of me as a homemaker.  But I’ve got a home, and sometimes I make things in it, so I don’t know what they think is so funny.

I saw this on A More Green and Simple Life, who saw it at What’s Happening at My House, who got it from someone else (you can see the progression at the end of her post).  I thought it looked like fun, and it was.

Without further ado…

A ~Aprons–y/n If y, what does your fav. look like?
Nope.  I cook in the same clothes I would paint in.
B ~ Baking–Favorite thing to bake?
Quick breads, like zucchini bread – yum.

C ~ Clothes line?
Yes, an indoor folding rack actually, for things that don’t have to go in the dryer.

D ~ Donuts–Have you ever made them?
No – I could never compete with Krispy Kremes.

E ~ Everyday–One homemaking thing you do everyday?
Make the bed.  It’s part of my bedtime routine to get into a neatly made bed.

F ~ Freezer–Do you have a separate deep freeze?
No, but I’ve started thinking about it.

G ~ Garbage Disposer?
No, but I’ve got a composting bin too.

H ~ Handbook–What is your favourite homemaking resource?
Allrecipes.com.

I ~ Ironing–Love it or Hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
Hate it, but love the results.  I usually save up huge batches of ironing to do all at once.

J ~ Junk Drawer–y/n? Where is it?
Yep, one in the kitchen and one in the garage.

K ~ Kitchen–color and decorating scheme.
Countertop is white/gray marble look, cabinets are white with navy stencils of sailboats and lighthouses.

L ~ Love–what is your favorite part of homemaking?
Laundry!  I love putting away clean clothes.

M ~ Mop–y/n?
No.  Hands and knees (very large dog = very dirty floor in very short time)

N ~ Nylons, machine or hand wash?
I wear them about once a year – they’re not compatible with Florida weather.  When I do, I machine wash.

O ~ Oven–do you use the window or open the oven to check?
The window, usually.

P ~ Pizza–What do you put on yours?
Pepperoni, mushrooms, onions, tomatoes, spinach

Q ~ Quiet–What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
I don’t get quiet moments of the day at work.  At night when I get home, I read if I can.

R ~ Recipe Card Box–y/n? What does it look like?
No – I have printed out favorites stored in ring binders.

T ~ Tablecloths or Placemats?
Placemats.

U ~ Under the kitchen sink–organized or toxic wasteland?
Toxic organization!

V ~ Vacuum–How many times per week?
Once, unless someone is coming over.

W ~ Wash–How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
Two to three.

X’s–Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
For work, yes.  Home, no.

Y ~ Yard–y/n? Who does what?

Yes, and I do it all.  Mowing, trimming, weeding, planting, whatever.

ZZZ’s–what is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
Unmaking the bed!  🙂

Leave a Reply

