The opposite shore

The Pembrokeshire coast, southwest Wales

The Pembrokeshire coast, southwest Wales

This is what the other side of the Atlantic Ocean looks like (at least in one spot) – the opposite shore to Florida.  No condos, no McMansions, no accommodations for people of any kind – just the wind and the birds and the cliffs falling right down to the sea.  I loved it.

I’m in a poetic mood this week, I guess.  This is a line of a poem that I’ve always responded to:

One if by land, and two if by sea;
And I on the opposite shore will be

It’s from Paul Revere’s Ride, by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.  I guess I’ve always taken the line out of context; not to refer to Paul Revere and the British, but to refer to someone choosing between two shores, or looking back from the opposite shore at the one they left behind.  It was cool to stand on that coast, looking to the southwest, and imagine the opposite shore that I had just left a few days before.

The Pembrokeshire coast is mostly a national park, and there is a walking trail along the cliffs for the entire extent of the peninsula.  It’s over 200 miles long, so hiking it can’t be done in one day.  We did a few pieces of it.  I’d like to go back and do more.

Leave a Reply

