Back in the groove

Heading into the mountains of north Wales

Heading into the mountains of north Wales

I’ve been home for a week now, and just today I feel like I’m getting back into the flow of my regular life.  Between very mild jet lag, having to catch up on laundry and grocery shopping, and a sinusitis/laryngitis that I came back with, plus sorting through three email accounts, it wasn’t until today that I felt like things are back to normal.  Ralph is back in his routine; I’ve made out my to-do lists for home over the weekend and work next week, I finally got started on antibiotics yesterday, my usual prescriptions are all refilled, and I feel like I’m “all set.”  (For what, I’m not sure.)
 
This morning I weighed 177 – down 2.5 pounds in three days.  Not that I can tell.  I still feel like a stuffed sausage in most of my clothes.  However, that should improve in a month or so.  I’m going to keep weighing every day for a while so I can keep the trend downward.  I took a walk for about 15 minutes after lunch today.  The weather is gorgeous – we are finally entering our version of fall, where the nighttime lows fall well into the 60s and daytime highs are in the lowish 80s, and the humidity is not as bad.  We’re also getting our first “cold” front of the season this weekend.  The predicted high for Sunday is 78.
 
With the beautiful weekend weather, I should be able to get a lot done in the yard.  The grass desperately needs mowing.  We are entering our dry season, so the mowing frequency should decrease somewhat now, and I can tell the grass isn’t growing as fast as it was in the summer.  But it’s been four weeks, and that’s too long!  Even over the winter I have to mow every 4 to 6 weeks.  I also plan to finish the patio area (except for the trim), come close to finishing the front walkway with pea gravel, and get my lettuce planted.  I’ve got to turn and dampen my compost; I can tell through the slits in the bin that it’s not making much progress except for compressing.  I know it’s too dry, so I’m going to fix that problem.
 
I’m also going to vote tomorrow; early voting is going on, and I want to get mine out of the way.  I don’t want to wait in line on election day with all the others who have to vote before they go to work.  I got my sample ballot in the mail and I know who and what I’m going to vote for and against, so during my stop at the library I’m going to vote.  If any of you reading this are considering whether or not to vote, please do.  Don’t take this awesome privilege that we have for granted.
End of lecture!  Have a great weekend.
Leave a Reply

