Compost problems

Weight this morning = 175.5.

There’s a reason for that, and it’s the same reason that I haven’t posted for a few days.  I’ve been in Jacksonville for a conference.  Of course we ate out a lot, and didn’t get any exercise, and as a result I’ve gained a pound.

Anyway, to the compost pile…

Mine is too dry.  I glanced in there yesterday, and everything is compacting nicely, but it’s all just drying out.  It’s not making nice compost.  Grrr.  So, I got in there with a hoe-shaped fork (I need to get a turning fork) and turned it as well as I could, and watered everything really well.  I’ll repeat that as often as I think I need to.  I really want to have some by spring so I can plant in the ground and not just in pots.

I pulled out most of my daisy-type wildflowers yesterday, which are really weeds.  I’m ready now for that plot of ground to have something else in it.  Those wildflowers spread like crazy, so I’m sure I’ll be pulling up their sprouts for a long time, but I’ll be able to plant something edible.  (Something most other people don’t like, so they won’t steal it! Maybe brussels sprouts and asparagus.)  I’ll need compost in that area for sure.  I’ll mulch it over the winter.

So much to do, so little time.  Sigh….

Leave a Reply

