Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving

 

Thanksgiving is one of my two favorite holidays, Easter being the other.  I love Thanksgiving because it’s a low stress day (unless you have to cook for in-laws, I guess, but I don’t have any of those).  I’m going to a friend’s house, and taking my famous sweet potato casserole.  Mmmmmm.  We’re not eating until 5:00, so I’ll have plenty of time to bake that, and to get other things done at home.

 

I also love Thanksgiving because it’s not a commercial holiday in and of itself.  Of course Black Friday occurs the day after Thanksgiving, but that’s about Christmas, not Thanksgiving.  There aren’t any gift obligations; all you have to do is eat too much and watch football (if you’re so inclined). 

 

I have so many things to be thankful for.  It’s good to have a day just to stop and consider all of those.  I couldn’t possibly list them all, but here are some of them:

 

  • My job.  I love my job.  I love almost everything about it.  I have a great boss and great coworkers.  I get paid well for what I do and I’m not in danger of being laid off.  I even have a short commute.
  • My health, which is relatively good. 
  • Ralph’s health, which is also relatively good, even at the ripe old age of 12 (which is ancient for a Labrador retriever).
  • My family, weird though they might be – compared to a lot of other people’s families, I have it pretty good.
  • Living in Florida in the winter.  After retirement I think I can face cold weather again, but while I still have to get up and get dressed and get out of the house every day, I’m glad that I don’t have to deal with snow, ice, sleet, frost, frozen water pipes, etc.
  • Living at the beach.  This town has its problems, but it’s still a pretty good place to live. 
  • My fixed-rate, 15 year mortgage, which I can afford easily, and which will be paid off in 12 years.
  • My little house.  It needs work, but it’s a sturdy little concrete block structure that has stood here unscathed by storms since 1948.  And it’s easy to clean.
  • My friends.  I have several close friends here that I couldn’t do without, plus my college roommate, who lives far away but is still one of my closest friends.  We talk by email every week.

 

I could go on and on, but I won’t.  What are you thankful for?

 

Happy Thanksgiving!

One response to “Thanksgiving

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you, you sure have a long list there.

    It is good to have a day in a year designated solely to remind us to be thankful. We do not have one here in Malaysia.

    The world would be less chaotic, it will be a more peaceful place if each day, each one of us is aware of the need to be thankful. There is plenty for each of us to be grateful about in our lives, we must always be mindful of this, daily.

    Here is what I am thankful for:

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-gratefulness/

Leave a Reply

