Goals for the new year

j0439558

In the past I’ve made “resolutions,” only to break them just like everyone else.  Usually they had to do with deprivation of some sort.  It was always a chore that felt like punishment, which is why they didn’t last, I’m sure.

I’m not going to make any more resolutions, and I’ll save the deprivation for Lent.

This year, I’m just going to set a few goals.

  1. Lose 15 pounds.  I weigh 175.5 today.  On 12/31/09 I will weigh 160.5.
  2. Complete my food storage and disaster preparation collection.  On 12/31/09 I’ll have six months of food and other essentials stored and ready.
  3. Come in under budget every month.  I will not dip into savings for regular expenses, only emergencies.
  4. Pay an extra $100/month on my car loan.  I’m not sure where that will put me by 12/31, but it should be nearly paid off.  The car loan is at 6.75% interest, the highest interest rate of my three outstanding loans (mortgage and student loan being the other two).  Paying it down makes more sense than putting that money in a 3.2% savings account.
  5. I will not waste any food this year.  Nothing will go in the trash can except that which cannot be composted.  That should be very little.

That’s enough!  It’s not productive to set too many goals; better to focus on the few and be sure to accomplish them.

One response to “Goals for the new year

  1. Pingback: January wrap-up « Treading Softly

Leave a Reply

