Preparation

Here in Florida we’re used to preparation.  Every year on and around June 1, the media starts spreading the word about being prepared for a hurricane.  They recommend that we have at least 3 days of food, water, etc. so we can make it on our own that long.  All of us who were here in 2004 for Charley, Frances and Jeanne take that very seriously.  Three days isn’t really enough; a week or two is better and more in line with potential power outages.

I’m not much of a worrier, about things in the near or far future.  Lately, though, I’ve had a vague, underlying sense of unease.  It’s hard to explain.  It’s not in my consciousness all the time, but it’s lurking there to reappear when I start thinking about the possibilities of what might happen in the world over the next several years.

It might be a function of some of the blogs I read, which are mostly on frugality, climate change, food and gardening.  No one is panicking, but a lot of the folks on “my” blogs are getting ready for…something.

Two of the blogs I read are Safely Gathered In and Totally Ready.  Safely Gathered In is written by a member of the Mormon church.  It’s part of their belief to have enough food stored for a year for each family.  Totally Ready seems to focus more on the potential of an outbreak of bird flu, or a flu epidemic in general.  Both blogs show how to go about preparation very methodically and calmly.  They have a plan.  I like that.

For the past several months, I’ve been collecting extra food and other necessities.  I’ve been doing it in a pretty casual manner; I have lists but I haven’t been keeping track of where I am on those.  One of my goals for the year is to have a six month supply of food, etc. by the end of this year.  Right now I need to do an inventory, then get more methodical about my preparations.

I also read a blog called The Oil Drum, about the oil and energy industries, peak oil, climate change, the future, and other issues.  Yesterday, I read this paragraph from a post on that blog, called Financial Forecast for 2009:

“Many people have started making preparation for the time when food needs to be produced locally and electricity is often not available. I would not discourage such preparations. While we do not know that the economy will collapse completely, I think such preparations are prudent, in the face of rising risk. Preparation for a major change takes many years, so starting earlier rather than later makes sense. Also, with the tower of debt (Figure 1) and the many feedback loops, the downward spiral can happen more quickly than our prior experience suggests is possible[emphasis mine].”

It sounds like good advice to me.

Leave a Reply

