A soupy experiment

I’ve been getting bok choy in my CSA box every week.  At first I stir-fried it, but that didn’t turn out very well.  I think I should have added more ingredients or something.  Anyway, that wasn’t the answer.

So this week, I decided to try something different.  I chopped up all the bok choy, and tossed it in the crockpot with

Mmmm, soup

Mmmm, soup

two cans of chicken stock, one can of vegetable stock (as it turns out, I wouldn’t have needed this), two cans of diced tomatoes, two small cans of chicken breast, and almost 2 cups of brown rice.  I set it on low.  After about 8 hours, it was smelling delicious, so I decided it was done.

I started scooping it out, only to find that the rice hadn’t cooked.  I know brown rice takes longer, but you’d think after 8 hours in liquid, it would have cooked.  But it didn’t.  Fortunately it was mostly at the bottom of the pot, so I was able to scoop the rest of the soup out.  I froze 8 servings and ate one, and it was really good.

When I’m ready to eat the other servings, I’m going to make white rice to go with it.  It should turn out something like chicken gumbo soup.

And that’s the answer to my bok choy problem.  I have yet to solve the mustard greens problem.

Leave a Reply

