Attack of the killer migraine

As of 2/1/09, my weight was 176.0.  I did two hours of yard work that day, to kick off my month of exercise – or so I thought.

I have migraines.  I’ve had them for about 10 years.  I’d say they’re a mild to moderate problem for me; I’ve known people that have had many more problems with them than I do.  I can go for a couple of weeks without having one, and when I do get one, it’s usually not bad, and one Imitrex will take care of it.

But sometimes….

The most common trigger for my headaches is changes in the weather.  Every time a cold front comes through in the winter, I can almost guarantee a migraine.  I had mild headaches Friday and Saturday evenings, and one Imitrex solved each of them.  Sunday, during the day and evening, I felt fine.  There was rain predicted for Monday, as a low pressure system approached from the west and a cold front from the north, but I thought I’d dodged the bullet.

Ha ha ha.

I woke up at 2:00 am Monday morning with a pretty bad headache.  I should have taken another Imitrex, but I didn’t.  You’re only supposed to take two per week, and my insurance company won’t refill the prescription any more than that.  So I get 9 Imitrex tablets per month, and I kind of have to save them.  I have a pain killer prescription too, so I took that instead and went back to sleep.

I woke up at 7:00 and was still groggy from the pain killer, and still had a little headache.  I really didn’t feel well at all, so I called in to work and let them know I was taking a sick day.  It’s a good thing I did.  I was hungry so I ate breakfast – and about an hour later, threw it back up.  Ugh.  The nausea stuck around for the rest of the day.  I tried to eat some crackers and ginger ale later in the day, and that didn’t stay down either.  I managed to eat some dry toast last night and keep it down.

This morning I don’t have a headache, but I’m not hungry, and I’m afraid to eat.  I also feel kind of weak from not having eaten much yesterday.

Anyway, all this is to say – my February exercise has already gotten off the rails.  I couldn’t even consider it yesterday, and I’m not sure I should try it today.  Maybe this evening, if I’m feeling better.

It seems like every time I have a plan to start something, it gets fouled up like this.  Grrrr.

Leave a Reply

