Life’s too short to put this off

A friend of mine had an awful experience a couple of weeks ago.  She hadn’t seen her neighbor for a couple of days, but didn’t think much about it, until a relative of the neighbor’s called and said she couldn’t get hold of her relative.  My friend went over to the house, and found her neighbor.  She had had an apparent heart attack and had died.

My friend’s neighbor was only 62 years old.  She had some health problems, though.  I don’t know if that’s why she had all of her paperwork in order, or if she was just a very organized person in the first place.  But she had neatly labeled files, with everything in them that her family needed to handle all of her finances, arrangements, etc.  They didn’t have to search for anything, or wonder what she wanted done, or worry about any unpaid bills.  Everything was laid out for them and taken care of.

When my friend told me about this, I said, “Wow, we should all be like that.”  But I haven’t done anything about it yet.  I know where everything is, but other than give my parents a key to my lockbox, I haven’t done anything to give anyone else a hint about where things are, or what bills are paid out of what account, or even what the accounts are.  I know it’s one of the things I really need to do, especially since I’m no spring chicken myself.  But, being somewhat of a procrastinator, I’ve taken no action.

So, my goal for this weekend is to create a notebook, with all the information in it that my family would need if anything was to happen to me.  Then I’ll make a copy of the whole thing, and take it to the family when I visit next month.  That will also give me a backup copy in case anything happens to mine.

I’m not going to put it off any longer.

Leave a Reply

