Homemade muesli

When I was in Wales, our breakfast was included as part of our tour package every day.  The typical English/Welsh breakfast is eggs, grilled tomatoes, sausage, ham (which they call bacon), and baked beans (!).  If we didn’t want a hot breakfast, though, there was also cereal, fruit and yogurt.

I had the hot breakfast for the first 8 or 9 days, but by then I was feeling very over-meated.  I ate just eggs and cereal for the next few days, but by then I had a rip-roaring sinus infection and wasn’t very hungry at all.  But then, at our last bed and breakfast in Llangollen, I discovered a real treat.

The hosts had homemade muesli, and it really hit the spot.  I ate a big bowl of it for breakfast the last two days we

Soooo good

Soooo good

were there.  Once I got home I kind of forgot about it, until I saw a recipe for it online several days ago.  The ingredients were simple – oats, nuts, and dried fruit.  It hit me that I could probably come close to reproducing the yummy muesli I had in Wales.

So I gave it a shot.  I tossed the following into a big bowl, and mixed it all up:

  • Most of a container of rolled old-fashioned oats (what I had in the cabinet)
  • About three cups of raisins
  • One pouch of dried cranberries
  • One pouch of dried tropical fruit (pineapple, mango and guava) for a Florida touch
  • One large bag of sliced almonds

It’s delicious, and it’s very close to the taste of what I had in Llangollen.  I think I’ve discovered my new favorite breakfast!  🙂

Leave a Reply

