Tax time

j0316868I have slowly but surely come around to doing most of my financial business online.  I get and pay all the bills I can online, and manage my bank accounts totally online.  However, I’d always done my taxes on paper.

I’ve always done my own taxes; I’ve never had an accountant.  I’ve never had a tax situation that I couldn’t figure out myself.  In past years I’ve been self-employed; worked for three different organizations in one year, and had capital gains one year.  That was a tough one!  But now, my taxes are relatively simple.

For the past couple of years, I’ve gotten more uncomfortable with mailing in my taxes.  I always went into the post office to put the envelope in the slot, so it would have the least public exposure and a lower chance of getting lost.  But with identity theft on the rise, I decided to try to file online this year.

It was so simple; now I can’t believe I didn’t do it before.  I did still fill out the paper form, just for my own information, but once I did that the online filing was really easy.  All I needed besides my inputs on the paper form was my W-2, for my employer information.  As it turned out, the refund I had figured out by hand was slightly off, because I had miscalculated my student loan interest deduction.  So I’m glad I used the online filing – it kept me from making that mistake.

I didn’t get to file free; I’m over the income limit for that now.  But it was definitely worth the $9.95.  I used TaxACT, as it seemed to have the best fees.  When I finished, they informed me that I would get an email confirmation within 24 hours, and a confirmation that the IRS had received my file within 72 hours.  However, I got both of those emails within about 4 hours.  The second email said that I should receive my refund in my checking account (direct deposit) in about 2 weeks.

I’m really pleased with the experience so far.  TaxACT will keep my information from this year, so they’ll remember me next year. 

If you’ve been on the fence about filing online, go ahead and try it.  It’s definitely the way to go.

Leave a Reply

