Work day on the farm

The CSA farm that I belong to doesn’t require that shareholders donate time to the farm.  I know there are some that do.  “My” farmers do need help, though, and yesterday they had a shareholder work day.

It was great fun.  We planted and mulched peppers, and mulched potatoes, and then had lunch, which mostly consisted of a huge salad from the garden.  I met a few of the other shareholders (not everyone could come), and I liked them a lot.  There were three kids along, who got to play with the baby goats and the rabbits.  Everyone had a good time.

Someone asked me if I grew up on a farm!  I said no, I grew up in the suburbs, but come from a long line of farmers.  I guess I looked natural digging in the dirt.  🙂

If you get the chance to spend the day working on a farm, I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

