The shoe fits

My college roommate is a garage sale nut.  She’s come down to visit me several times, and twice, what she wanted to do was go to garage sales.  At least she’s easy to entertain!  She always finds clothes at the sales, and if they’re her size, she knows she can wear them.  Even pants.  I told her she’s got a generic body.  Everything always fits.

I wouldn’t be able to buy pants at a garage sale.  I can’t even buy them online or from catalogs.  I have to try things on; size means nothing when it comes to my body.  It’s not generic at all; it’s definitely custom! 

When it comes to shoes, we’re the opposite.  Barb has a terrible time finding shoes that fit.  Her feet are shaped kind of funny.  I, on the other hand, have generic feet.  If a shoe is a size 9B, I can wear it.  I’ve ordered them online and they always fit.  I can wear cheap shoes, and they don’t hurt my feet.

It’s good to have generic feet.  Shoes are expensive!  I’m not a shoe nut.  Since it’s so cold in my office, I usually wear boots to work.  I have two pairs, black and brown, and I wear them almost every day.  They’re out of style now – they’re ankle boots, and they have cuffs.  With pants the cuffs are covered up, though, so it doesn’t really matter.

I got those boots on sale, for $15.00 each.  (They were originally $25.00.)  They’re not real leather.  But I’ve had them for several years now, and they’re still going strong.  The black ones are starting to develop a crack in the right

I have a pair of these too

I have a pair of these too

sole, so they’ll fall apart one of these days.  But until they do, I’ll keep wearing them.  I figure that my cost per wear must be a fraction of a cent by now!  They were definitely worth the “investment.”

It’s good to have generic feet.

Leave a Reply

