Notes from the weekend

I’m not all that wild about cooking, but I love my crockpot.  I have a Better Homes and Gardens crockpot cookbook, and my favorite chapter is called “Five Ingredients.”  I made one of those recipes yesterday.  I put a quarter pork loin in the pot, then mixed together a large white onion (chopped), a jar of apricot preserves, two tablespoons of dijon mustard, and 1/4 cup of vegetable broth (it called for chicken broth, but I didn’t have any).  I dumped that on top of the loin and turned on the pot, low heat for 10 hours.  It was AWESOME.  I’ll be eating that for three of my lunch meals this week.

My sourdough starter came, and I got it bubbling away nicely in a jar.  I have two more loaves of bread in the freezer to eat, then I start making homemade bread.  Yum!!!!!

I transplanted the red bell pepper plant that I got at Lowes.  So far so good.  I have another tomato plant sprouting, so I have two orange bell peppers, two cherry tomato plants, and one spinach sprouting.  They won’t be ready to transplant for a while.

Now I’m watching Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods battle it out in the Masters.  Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

