A horticultural experiment

There are many problem spots in my front yard, but one of the most problematic is a small slope at the corner of the yard, that runs along the sidewalk to the driveway, gradually diminishing in height.  At its highest, right at the corner, it’s about 2 feet high.  That’s not much, but it’s enough to create a significant erosion problem when the weeds that hold the soil together have been pulled.

It rained 3 or 4 days this week, which is great, but I had to shovel the eroded dirt off the sidewalk this morning.  I need a fast-growing ground cover that doesn’t require much water.

Real sunflowers are gigantic versions of beach sunflower, sort of

Real sunflowers are gigantic versions of beach sunflower, sort of

There’s a plant that’s called beach sunflower, that seems to grow everywhere.  It has dark green leaves and small-to-medium sized yellow flowers.  Once it gets established, it’s kind of invasive.  That’s exactly what I need.  I looked for it at Lowes on Tuesday, but they didn’t have any.  They usually do.

There’s some growing wild down by my mailbox.  It’s technically in my next door neighbor’s yard, but it’s also even more technically in the strip of land between the sidewalk and the street, which is owned by the city.  It’s also invaded the next door neighbor’s yard from his next door neighbor, the guy with the wildlife habitat in his yard.  I know my neighbor doesn’t like it, because he’s commented on it.

So, I decided to liberate some of the plant from the city-owned area of land at my mailbox and transplant it onto my slope.  I don’t know how well I did.  I dug up four different sections of plant and moved them to the slope.  They’re hard to water, because the water just tends to run down the hill instead of soaking into the ground.  But I dug little trenches, and managed to get some water to them.  I’ll water again later today.

With any luck, they’ll start getting established before it rains again.  If it works, I won’t need to buy any more ground cover; the flowers should spread out and do the job.  If it doesn’t work, I haven’t lost anything except some time.  In that case I’ll buy some better plants when Lowes has them again.

One response to “A horticultural experiment

  1. Pingback: Changing the landscape « Treading Softly

Leave a Reply

