The end of the CSA season

I made my last trip to the CSA farm yesterday.  The bucket contained the usual: lettuce, red potatoes, celery, parsley, kale, grape tomatoes, cucumbers and eggs.  We never saw any squash, zucchini or eggplant, and I know they have them planted.  I planted some of the squash myself, on the work day!  I expect that they’ll take those to their farmers’ market, and can make more money from them than they can from the shareholders.

It’s kind of an odd schedule, as most CSAs are just now getting geared up.  The end is coming at a good time, though; the weather is hot and gas prices are going up, and it will be nice to not have a two-hour drive with air conditioning every Saturday afternoon.

I’m still not 100% sure I’ll join again next year; it’s too soon to tell.  My plan right now is to do so.

I brought home some landscaping plants that the farmer’s wife dug up for me, for free.  They’re all for the front yard. 

My red pepper plant has one beautiful, approximately 3-inch-long green pepper.  I can’t wait for it to finish growing and turn red!  I have great plans for it!  There seem to be a couple more coming.  The apple tree has sprouted a few leaves, as has the almond tree.  The blackberry bush is going to town already – it’s got leaves all over it.

My seedlings inside have stalled out.  I’m not sure why; it may have been too cool in the house, or not enough sun.  The tomatoes are big enough that I’m going to try them outside anyway, well-staked; the peppers I’ll keep for a while longer but I don’t anticipate being able to plant them.

For the rest of the summer, I hope to be eating my own red peppers, and it’s back to the farmers’ market here for everything else!

Leave a Reply

