Friday links and random thoughts

I’m feeling random and disorganized today.  So here are a few links and some other randomness. 
  • Why do people buy sports cars and then drive them slowly?  It seems like every time I get behind a Porsche or some other flashy little thing, it’s going at least 10 mph below the speed limit.  Why buy a car that you’re afraid to drive?  At least drive the speed limit, people.  We have a saying in the South: If you can’t run with the big dogs, stay on the porch.
  • I love the blog Zen Habits.  I’ve been culling my reader of blogs lately, but I’ll always stick with this one.  This post is great reading for anyone who deals with eating issues: It’s Time for a New Relationship with Food.  Leo points out that food is just fuel, but we use it for so many other things.  That doesn’t change the fact that it’s just fuel.
  • I’ve walked 5 out of 7 mornings this week, and I’ve noticed something interesting about people’s lawns.  There seems to be two choices in lawn maintenance these days:  either maintain a pristine spread of St. Augustine grass, or give up.  That would put me squarely in the “give up” category (haha).  A couple of people are letting their yards go completely to wildflowers.  I like it, but I don’t know if the city has objections.  At least we don’t have homeowners’ associations in this neighborhood, so the wildflower enthusiasts won’t be paid visits from grumpy old men, demanding that the wildflowers be banished.
  • Here’s another gem from Zen Habits: 55 Ways to Get More Energy.  The first one is something I can attest to from personal experience: Change your socks.  When I used to work in a hospital, there was a surgery resident who would always change his socks halfway through his 24 hour call period.  He said it helped get him through the night.  I’ve always remembered that, and have used it from time to time.
  • I ate my record-setting green pepper as part of my lunch today, and it was terrific.  When I cut it open, the scent was wonderful.  I’d forgotten what a fresh pepper smelled like.  Mmmm.
  •   Here’s a blog that I’ve just recently discovered, called Of Two Minds.  Most of his posts are about politics and the economy, but this one was about preparing yourself and your family for the inevitable time when you will die.  All of his points are excellent, and many make suggestions about things you might not think of yourself, even if you think your plans are all made.  I just recently updated my will, since my nephew is now an adult.
  • I saw in a headline today that GM is going to sell the Saturn division to Penske.  I wonder what that will mean for us Saturn owners?  Will there be Saturn race cars??  Will our local dealer stay in town??  There are a LOT of Saturns in this area.  I hope they won’t abandon us.
  •   Did you know that hoarding is now a medical diagnosis?  There’s a scale for measuring your degree of cluttering/hoarding.  A link to it is in this post on Unclutterer.  Hmmm.
  • I have so many projects that I’ve started and haven’t yet finished.  Stuff in the yard, stuff in the house…  I think I need to pick one at a time and keep at that one until it’s done.  Then I can get going on another one.  The way I’ve been going, I’ll never finish anything.  The one I need to finish this weekend (in addition to mowing again) is trimming those two shrubs by the driveway.  I finished the sides of one, but the top where I can’t reach is sticking up like a green Mohawk.  And the other shrub is still shaggy.  They look silly.
 
So much to do, so little time (and money).  Sigh…
Leave a Reply

