There’s more than one way to skin a strawberry

I thawed out my frozen strawberries a few days ago, and on Saturday I set out to make my strawberry cobbler.  I had decided to do cobbler rather than pie, because I only had one pie crust left.  However, when I was looking for recipes for strawberry cobbler online, I couldn’t find one I liked.  I did find a recipe for a strawberry pie with crumb topping, which only required one bottom crust.  So I decided to go with that.

I got everything mixed up, and started to roll out the pie crust – and it started cracking apart, into strip-shaped pieces.  I guess it needed to warm up before I unrolled it, because it had been in the fridge for a while.  So, back to the cobbler idea, with strips of pie crust rather than a solid crust.  But would what I had already mixed up for topping work for a cobbler?

I didn’t know, but I wasn’t going to waste any of it.  So I laid down the pie crust strips over the strawberries (which I’d already coated with a mixture of flour, sugar and cornstarch), sprinkled most of the topping over the crust strips, then sprinkled some more sugar on it, along with some cinnamon and nutmeg.  I looked in one of my old cookbooks for cobbler cooking times and temperatures, adjusted the oven, and put the cobbler in.

Fifty minutes later, I had a beautiful-looking strawberry cobbler.  And it tastes great!  It’s not terribly sweet, but it’s really good.  It would be even better with vanilla ice cream, but I forgot to get any of that at the store.

Sometimes improvisation works better than the original plan!

Leave a Reply

