What to do when it’s 115 degrees

Read.

Sit quietly indoors.

Drink lots of water.

Read some more.

Watch the U.S. Open.

Don’t think about how high the electric bill will be this month.

It’s not actually 115 degrees, but the heat index is going to be that high.  The high yesterday was 96, and it’s predicted to be 98 today.  It’s just too dangerously hot to do anything outside.  These may be the hottest two days we have all year.  The low temperature last night was 82 degrees.  Whew.

I mowed the yard yesterday, and just about killed myself doing it.  I was panting way before I usually do.  I have a lot of weed pulling to do, but I’m not going to do it today. 

What today is perfect for, is trying out the solar oven again.  The first trial was semi-successful, but it was in the winter.  Today, I’m going to try a recipe in the solar oven cookbook for banana-mango bread.  It sounds great, and is supposed to bake for 1 1/2 hours.  I’ll put it outside at noon, and we’ll see what happens.

Other than that, I’m going to: read, drink lots of water, sit quietly indoors, and try not to think about the electric bill.

Leave a Reply

