A new fiscal year

The end of the month

The end of the month

My fiscal year ends June 30.  The college’s fiscal year ends then, so mine does too.  🙂  That’s when our benefits change, any raises go into effect, etc.

I don’t know what my take home pay will be yet, and I won’t be able to find out until June 29.  There weren’t any raises this year, so my base salary won’t change.  But I’ve increased the amount of money that will go into my flexible spending plan every month, and my health insurance premiums have gone up by $3.00/month (not bad!), so my take home will be somewhat less than before.

My budget will have to be adjusted, too, to fit the new paycheck.  I also don’t know yet what my car insurance will be.  It shouldn’t change much, but it’s always a few dollars different.  I also have some spending categories that I haven’t budgeted for in the past (eating out, for example).  I always end up spending some in those categories, so I have to start budgeting for that.

I’m also going to set up a separate website in an attempt to bring in a little extra income.  I’m still working on the idea, but I’m going to go ahead and establish it, so that will be an extra $6.95/month. 

And, the costs of food and gasoline continue to climb.  Higher expenses, lower paycheck.  Just like a lot of other people.  Sigh.

Leave a Reply

