A suggestion for the Nobel Prize committee

Whoever it was that invented stretch denim.

That person should win the Nobel Prize.

On the Fourth of July, celebrating an American invention

On the Fourth of July, celebrating an American invention

It had to be a woman.  🙂

I went shopping yesterday for new pants.  I wear pants to work, almost exclusively, for a couple of reasons.  First, I never know when I’m going to have to get on the floor to search through our lowest shelf of books.  Second, it’s like a meat locker in my office, in the lunch room, and usually in the library itself.  Wearing a skirt would just be too cold.

The pants that I have are getting old.  I don’t know exactly when I got them, but it was at least 5 pounds ago.  My work wardrobe is built around black, brown and tan.  My black pants are old enough that they’re starting to get that bluish look around the waist and seams – they’re fading.  And, because I got them at least 5 pounds ago, they’re a little snug.  Just enough to be slightly uncomfortable.  It’s that stuffed sausage feeling, and I hate that.

I’m trying to lose weight, but what if I don’t?  I haven’t done very well with it.  While I’m trying, I need to wear clothes that fit.  Like they say on What Not to Wear: buy clothes for the body you have, not the body you want.

So, yesterday I went shopping for new pants.  I figured I would have to go up a size.  Usually, Dockers are my best bet.  So I grabbed every style of Dockers there were in my new size and tried them all on.  I found two different styles that fit, and was able to get two pairs of brown pants, and two pairs of tan pants.

But the black pants in my size were sold out.

Rats.  I’m going to have to find them somewhere else.

In the meantime, I’m going to petition for a new Nobel Prize category: the Nobel Prize for Textiles.  And the first prize should go to that stretch denim inventor.  🙂

Leave a Reply

