Rain and more rain

Rain is good.  We’re above normal for this year, but at the end of 2008 our aquifer levels were about 1 1/2 feet below what they should be.  So I have no serious complaints about rain.

Except for one.  It’s hard to keep the grass mowed.

I have one of the biggest yards on the street, being on a corner lot.  Plus, most of my neighbors have a lawn service.  That’s not something I want to pay for right now.  However, it means that I’m always behind when it comes to keeping up the mowing.  The same guy does most of the lawns on the street, and he does them all at once, and about every 10 days.  Yesterday I got home from work and everyone’s lawn looked great, except for mine.

I got about half of it mowed this morning.  I’ll do the rest tomorrow.  In the summer, even at 8:30 am, that’s all I can do before I’m panting and have to go in.  I could do the rest later today – but it’s raining.

What I would like to do, ideally, is cut a little grass each evening when I get home.  But, in the summer, evening is when it rains.  So that hasn’t been working out very well.

The good news is that with all the rain, the beach sunflower is really taking off.  I cleared off some more of the slope for it yesterday afternoon.  The more it spreads, the less area I have to mow.

I really need to get more ground cleared for my landscaping project, so there isn’t as much to mow.

But it keeps raining.

Leave a Reply

