The garden at the equinox

Work has been so busy.  We thought it might be unusually hectic, with 17,000 students, and we were right.  I’ve been tired in the evenings!

Fortunately, there hasn’t been much to do in the garden.  It’s finally getting slightly cooler.  We’re going to have some more hot days, but not many. 

The apple tree is recovering from the fire blight.  There are new leaves sprouting in several places.  There’s some kind of small black bug on the leaves, so I have to do something about that.

I cut the fourth bell pepper yesterday.  It was a little rotted in a couple of places.  Maybe I left it on the plant too long, but it just finished turning red.  No worries; there are two more starting to grow!  This plant has done a lot better than I thought it would at first.

The broccoli looks great.  The leaves are big and more are growing all the time.  I can’t wait to see the flower start sprouting.  One of the Brussels sprouts plants is looking good too; the other one is still very small.  I don’t think it will do much.

I picked another tomato yesterday.  The last one was delicious and this one looks good too.  I picked a few more off the plant that had holes in the top, like they had something burrowed into them, and threw them away.  I don’t want any more unpleasant surprises when I cut one open.

The blackberry bush and almond tree continue to grow nicely.

Leave a Reply

