Back in the writing groove

I haven’t written anything longer than a paragraph for quite a while.  It’s been hard to find uninterrupted time to write, even for work.  My coworker, with whom I write articles for publication, is fresh out of ideas and so am I.  We were working on an idea back in the spring, but we couldn’t get the idea expressed on paper.  So we gave up.

Last week my coworker had to turn in her annual goals, and she listed as one of her goals that she would write a paper.  Not necessarily publish a paper (because that’s not always controllable), but at least write one.  Since we’re writing partners, that goal by extension includes me.  So we’ve got a year to think of an idea, do the background research, and get something written.  The idea is the hardest part.

In the meantime, I want to get back to writing on a regular basis.  When you don’t practice, your skills get rusty, regardless of what those skills may be.  Maybe the exercise of writing something every day will spur my creativity and help me think of an idea for a paper.

Leave a Reply

