Overcoming the freeze

Almost as soon as I planted everything on Black Friday, the weather deteriorated severely.  We had several freezing nights in December, including a string of three in a row.  The plants were in the baby stage and I think it stunted their growth.

They’re starting to come along a little better now, although I’m not sure the broccoli and Brussels sprouts are salvageable.  I may start them over now that it’s February.  The cabbage is about 2 inches high now.  The carrots in the raised bed are doing great.  I’ve sprinkled some Boston lettuce in there, as well as in a pot, and it seems to be okay.  The spinach is at picking-size, and I’m going to have it in a salad this weekend. Yum!

I’m going to plant a spaghetti squash this weekend, and by the end of the month get a tomato or two started.

Leave a Reply

