Sunrise

The first sunrise of 2012 from Daytona Beach

I’ve walked on the beach for two days in a row now. The picture is from yesterday. The sunrise was nearly perfect. Today, it’s cloudy; there’s a cold front coming through. Tomorrow will be clear but near freezing. That’s when it gets hard to get up and walk.

 
The raised bed is done. Yesterday I planted broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, and spinach. Today I’m going to plant lettuce. I won’t get too much more done outside because I have a lot to do inside – I have to go back to work tomorrow.
 
 
I’ve been taking part in the monthly challenges at 750words. com, first in December and now in January. It’s amazing what the effect of writing every day has had on the rest of my habits so far. Accomplishing that one thing, writing every day for a month, has allowed energy to bleed over into the rest of my activities. It’s gotten that raised bed built in record (for me) time; it’s gotten me out the door the past two days to walk on the beach. And now I’ve signed up for January, to write 750 words every day there as well.
 
It’s much easier to be motivated when you’ve finished one thing and established one habit successfully. At least it is for me.
Leave a Reply

