Cabbage and Brussels sprouts

The cabbage yesterday

 
The cabbage and Brussels sprouts are coming along nicely. We’re having such a mild winter so far, even for us, and the plants are taking full advantage.
 
At least the cabbage and Brussels sprouts are.  The broccoli is not as enthusiastic, although it hasn’t given up yet.  I may still have one spinach plant too.
 
The indoor lettuce is not doing well.  I don’t know if it’s a light issue or a water issue. The sprouts came right up, put out a few leaves, then have seemed to stop.  They are getting direct sunlight in the afternoon through the sliding glass door, and I’ve been keeping them watered. so I’m not sure what’s up there. Maybe they just prefer to be outside.  Maybe the seeds are too old and they’re just not going to produce vigorous plants.
 
 
I decided not to buy any seeds this year because I had so many left over.  All the ones I have were labeled for either 2010 or 2011, and have been kept cool and dry, so I thought they would be fine.  Maybe not.  But I’m not going to buy new seeds this year regardless.  I should get something to grow, even if it’s just Brussels sprouts and cabbage.
 
The Brussels sprouts and cabbage look a lot alike at this point, don’t they?

The Brussels sprouts, yesterday

Leave a Reply

