Day of Higher Ed

There was an article in the Washington Post last week (I didn’t read it) by someone who was claiming that college professors didn’t work enough. A blogger who teaches at a university somewhere in the country jumped on that, and suggested that all of us in higher education spend a day recording what we did all day. Yesterday, April 2, was the Day of Higher Ed.

I joined in, tweeting as I went, about what I was doing. It was a full day. Here’s the breakdown:

7:30 am – check email. A student is requesting an appointment for research help on Wednesday; I respond affirmatively. A librarians’ meeting appointment is waiting to be accepted in Outlook; I do.

9:15 am – I get to work, 15 minutes early. Otherwise it’s a battle for parking (we have no designated faculty parking).

9:30 – 11:00 am: I am working on a scenario planning project for a continuing education course in library leadership, with a team from Florida State University. I get interrupted a couple of times by other faculty wanting to talk about something.

11:00 am – 12:00 noon: Teach library skills instruction to freshman English class. Ten students, of varying levels of interest, as usual. I bet I can pick the one that will fail the class.

12:00: start working on presentation for Academic Excellence Symposium later in the month. I am presenting with one of our psychology faculty on heuristics and student search patterns.

1:15 – 1:30 pm: talk to my boss about plans for attending the Florida Library Association conference, coming up in two weeks. We have a grant that will pay for my one day of attendance. Excellent!

1:30 – 2:00 pm: lunch at my desk; a sandwich from the coffee shop downstairs. While eating, I read an article in College and Research Libraries written by two librarians I know from University of Central Florida.

2:00 pm: log in to a Town Hall Meeting with college president, broadcast over IP/TV – update on our SACS accreditation survey which is coming next year

3:00 pm: I start my three hour shift at the reference desk. It’s usually not busy this time of day (although that varies) so I’m able to do something else while I’m there. Today I’m going to work on a tutorial on finding articles in our online databases, to use on our Libguides research guides.

6:00 pm: I have a virtual meeting with the other members of my FSU team to coordinate our efforts on the scenario planning project. We met last night, and all had assignments to do today (my 9:30-11:00 am activity today). Now we’re meeting to try to finalize some things. We present our scenario next Monday night. We wrap up at 6:45 and I head home – but I’m not quite done yet…

7:30 At home, reading a book that I need to review for Library Journal; the review is due next Tuesday. It’s an interesting book, but I can’t talk about it because it hasn’t been published yet.

So there it is – the full record of how I “don’t work enough.” If you would like to see more, go to Twitter and do a search for the hashtag #dayofhighered.

Leave a Reply

