Summer Challenge 2012

Our work schedules here at the college change significantly in the summer. The week after graduation, we go to a 4 1/2 day work week, which for most of us here in the library is a four day work week, 10 hours/day, Monday through Thursday. Last year was the first year of it, and we’re doing it again this year.

Last year, a coworker and I decided to take advantage of the change in schedule by issuing a Summer Challenge to each other. For the ten weeks that the schedules are changed, we each choose something to change about ourselves. Last year, my coworker gave up eating at Chick-Fil-A all summer (she was going 2 to 3 times per week, and always ordered chicken nuggets). I gave up regular Coke. It worked pretty well, although we both had a couple of slips. We were pleased enough with the results that we decided to do it again this year.

This year, we’re starting early. Actually, we’re starting today. Summer schedule doesn’t start until three weeks from today, so we’re getting a jump on it. For this year, I am giving up soda completely for the summer and she is giving up all fast food. I brought in a case of bottled water and several boxes of Crystal Light iced tea mix, and that’s how I’m going to get my caffeine. So far so good; I just finished my first bottle. To help me, my partner in deprivation took my drink mug (free refills for the semester at the cafeteria) and hid it in her office somewhere. Out of sight, out of mind…

I wanted to do something else – give up computer games. I waste a lot of time on them, especially on my iPad. So my coworker decided that she would go to yoga at least twice per week. She gets up and runs in the mornings, but she’s not as faithful with the yoga, and wanted to be. So this year, the challenge is twofold.

We’re keeping track of each other via Google Calendar, but it will make me even more accountable if I record my progress here. So at the end of every week I’ll give an update.

Right now I’m off to mix up another bottle of iced tea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

