Ending and beginning in the garden

 

I’ve harvested my last Brussels sprouts for the year.

The plants started to get black spots on the leaves – it looked like mold, but I’m not sure what it was. I got two good crops, though, so I’m satisfied. I gave my co-worker the second batch. She steamed them and pronounced them delicious.

I’ve realized now, after two years, that July really is no-man’s-land for vegetable production in my back yard. I need to start my summer vegetables now. So that’s exactly what I’m going to do. They’ll germinate well in the heat, then hopefully produce better when the temps cool off.

I hadn’t looked at my Florida gardening book for a while, and I should have. According to it, summer vegetables get planted in August, and winter ones in October. I planted these Brussels sprouts in January, and it just got too hot for them. If I plant them again in October, they should produce better.

So I’m clearing out the old plants, working in new soil and manure, and will plant seeds this weekend. Beans, squash, tomatoes and peppers. And some carrots, to make the tomatoes happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

